Know what you want? Try our 'Supplier Directory' 

CIBSE ASHRAE Young Engineer awards shortlist revealed

The Young Engineers Awards, held by the Chartered Institution of Building Services Engineers and the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating, and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE), will be presented on 9th October 2014 at the Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE).

Nine leading young building services engineers have been shortlisted for the 2014 CIBSE ASHRAE Graduate of the Year Award, with six companies in the running to be CIBSE Employer of the Year.

The prestigious Graduate of the Year will win a trip to the ASHRAE Winter Conference in Chicago next January and two runners up will receive cash bursaries from the Rumford Club.  The shortlisted engineers are:

  • Michael Enstone, Imperial College and AECOM
  • James Harker, London South Bank University
  • Abdul Wahab Malik, NED University of Engineering and Technology and Meinhardt, Pakistan
  • Charlotte Mercer, University of the West of England and AECOM
  • Amelia Ng, University of Bristol and Arup
  • Richard Seaman, Dublin Institute of Technology
  • Kit Stormont, University of Bath and Buro Happold
  • Emilia Targonska, Loughborough University and Hoare Lea
  • Bryony Turtle, University of Bristol and Atkins

The shortlist for the Employer Award which recognises companies who nurture young talent is:

  • Large Employers – Hoare Lea and NG Bailey
  • Medium Employer – Max Fordham and Building Services Design
  • Small Employers - Kaizenge Design and Camilleri and Cuschieri Consulting Engineers

The occasion will also see the presentation of the IMechE Construction and Building Services Division annual award and will be followed by the annual ASHRAE Presidential Lecture given by the Society’s president Tom Phoenix visiting from the US. Phoenix is also a member of the Graduate Award judging panel alongside Peter Kinsella, president of CIBSE; Mark Hunt, president of the IMechE; Rumford Club chairman Ellen Salazar and last year’s award winner William Holley. The panel, which is chaired by CIBSE ASHRAE Group chairman Professor Tim Dwyer, must decide which of the finalists shows the best combination of communication skills, sound engineering knowledge and practical understanding while presenting to a packed auditorium.

The awards, which are supported by three leading international engineering institutions – CIBSE, ASHRAE and IMechE – are sponsored by Daikin UK, Kingspan Tarec and Ruskin Air Management.

Attendance at the awards event, which starts at 5pm and concludes with a hot buffet dinner, is free and open to all, but anyone wishing to attend must book their free place in advance at:


4 September 2014


Already Registered?
Not Yet Registered?

Industry welcomes green economy plans

The industry has broadly welcomed Chancellor Rishi Sunak’s announcement to boost the “green economy” which includes a Green Homes Grant Scheme and an investment in the energy efficiency of public buildings.



LG introduces new round cassette for multi v VRF systems

LG continues to introduce new and efficient product additions to its range of air conditioning equipment. Its latest introduction is its new round cassette, particularly helpful in spaces with high or exposed ceilings....


Energy efficient removal of excess heat

Evaporative Cooling and Humidity Control can be achieved through the adiabatic process to improve productivity and workers' wellbeing, as well as helping to remove excess heat generated in many industrial and manufacturing processes
Heating & Ventilating Review is the number one magazine in the HVAR industry. Don’t miss out, subscribe today!
Subcribe to HVR


FETA Annual Lunch