Know what you want? Try our 'Supplier Directory' 

Ten finalists in the running for CIBSE ASHRAE award

Ten young engineers have been shortlisted for this year's CIBSE ASHRAE Graduate of the Year award - the largest group of finalists for the prize in more than a decade.
Ten finalists in the running for CIBSE ASHRAE award
Supported by three leading international engineering institutions, the award is sponsored by Daikin, Lochinvar and Ruskin Air Management. It will be presented alongside the CIBSE Employer of the Year Award during this year's CIBSE Young Engineers' Awards in October.

Shortlisted are:
· Carla Bartholomew, University of West of England and AECOM
· Bonnie Brooks, London South Bank University and URS
· Sandra Camacho, Loughborough University and Colombia Green Building Council
· Kathryn Dryden, Sheffield University and Atkins
· William Holley, Nottingham University and Buro Happold
· Elinor Huggett, University College London and Max Fordham
· John Hughes, University of Ulster and Semple and McKillop
· Chris Iddon, Loughborough University and SE Controls
· Kayley Lockhead, Leeds Metropolitan University and NG Bailey
· Emily Woodhouse, Cambridge University and AECOM

All of the finalists will give a short presentation to the judging panel at the Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE), London on 9 October 2013.

The winner will be invited to attend the ASHRAE Winter Conference in New York and there are cash bursaries from the Rumford Club on offer to two runners-up.

The occasion will also see the presentation of the IMechE Construction and Building Services Division Annual Award and will be followed by the annual ASHRAE Presidential Lecture given by the Society's president Bill Bahnfleth visiting from the USA.

Bill Bahnfleth is also a member of the Graduate Award judging panel alongside CIBSE President George Adams; IMechE President Patrick Kniveton and last year's award winner Lee Tabis of NG Bailey. Chaired by CIBSE ASHRAE Group chairman Professor Tim Dwyer, the panel must decide which of the finalists shows the best combination of communication skills, sound engineering knowledge and practical understanding while presenting to a packed auditorium.

This will be the 18th Annual Award, and each year the winner is selected for their potential to serve as an ambassador for young engineers at the ASHRAE Conference which is held in a different US city each year.

Attendance at the awards event, which starts at 5.30pm on October 9th 2013, is free of charge and open to all. However, numbers are strictly limited and anyone who wishes to attend must reserve their place in advance by emailing:

Follow HVROnlineEditor on Twitter
9 September 2013


Already Registered?
Not Yet Registered?

Industry welcomes green economy plans

The industry has broadly welcomed Chancellor Rishi Sunak’s announcement to boost the “green economy” which includes a Green Homes Grant Scheme and an investment in the energy efficiency of public buildings.



LG introduces new round cassette for multi v VRF systems

LG continues to introduce new and efficient product additions to its range of air conditioning equipment. Its latest introduction is its new round cassette, particularly helpful in spaces with high or exposed ceilings....


Energy efficient removal of excess heat

Evaporative Cooling and Humidity Control can be achieved through the adiabatic process to improve productivity and workers' wellbeing, as well as helping to remove excess heat generated in many industrial and manufacturing processes
Heating & Ventilating Review is the number one magazine in the HVAR industry. Don’t miss out, subscribe today!
Subcribe to HVR


FETA Annual Lunch